Train your brain

Train your Brain!

In order to experience change or to be able to reach your goals, you need to clearly define what that change is and what your goals are.

Your goal needs to include a plan that leads to a permanent transformation, not a temporary fix or a temporary plan.

In order for you to be able to experience change, you must be able to teach your mind and your body that the positive changes are good. Your brain will not allow you to make changes that it thinks are bad for you. Your brain is wired to help protect you from threats. And many times change creates fear and doubt which triggers the brain to try to stop you from doing the thing that has caused you to experience fear or doubt and sometimes even pain.

But, the good news is that you can teach your mind, body and brain that these changes are good and you can win the battle with these fears and doubts and you can prevent self-sabotage.

See your brain needs to understand that the things that it needs must be met before you try to make any change.
Your brain recognizes two areas: number one is safety and number two is danger. And whether you know or not, it is your brain working to try to protect you when it is unsure about what's going on. "Are you safe?" Or "Are you in danger?" and all the brain wants to know is "Am I safe?" And once your brain receives a "YES" you can entertain your objectives and goals or dreams.

In change regarding your brain or your mind there are three levels where you hang out. Number one is survival mode. Number two is where you strive. And number three is where you thrive.

Your brain, when you can't seem to do what you want, is trying to protect you from something that it "feels" as a threat. So what is a threat? A threat to the brain is the inability to predict the future or the inability to create the appropriate responses to what's happening in our environment.

Your brain is always trying to lead you to a place of safety. Safety is the ability to create prediction about the environment in the appropriate response or responses to it.

There are several phases of threats including fight, flight, freeze and even excessive emotional triggering. And different people are in different phases and we have to identify which phase we are in.

FIGHT PHASE:
The fight phase is typical of aggressive or passive aggressive nature. Vocabulary typically used by someone in the fight phase are things like "No!" "Won't!" "Can't!" "It'll never work!" People in the fight phase or typically people who are "standing their ground!"

FLIGHT PHASE:
The flight phase is invasive. People in the flight phase tend to avoid conflict. Vocabulary used by somebody in the flight phase is typical of "I'm not sure!" Or "I don't know!"

FREEZE PHASE:
Freeze is adhesive. People in the freeze phase are stuck in a rut. They are too threatened to fight or flight. In this phase many people need help with assessing and addressing what the threats are.

There are many things that, if changed, could produce fear and worry and cause people to fight or flight or freeze. Some examples include health, wealth, relationships or relationship status, ego, appearance, bank accounts and other things…

So try to relax!
Teach your brain that the change you are making is safe and what is best for you.
Don't try to change [too many things] too quickly. Allow your mind to process the change(s).

Take care!
-Chris

About

I am a Personal Trainer. I have many years of Fitness, Sports & Coaching experience. I played sports in junior high & high school. I was on the weight lifting team for my high school, where I won several of the competitions for my weight class. I began coaching basketball when I was 19 years young. I have also coached soccer. I have directed Youth Sports programs for the YMCA. I have officiated basketball and football games. I have directed Adult Sports Leagues for my community as well. I have been the Physical Education Teacher for my elementary school that I attended, where I Coached an average of 1,000 students per week. I have educated many people on the benefits of health and fitness and I would love to inspire you as well! I am currently a Personal Trainer at Anytime Fitness where I train current members, come join us. If you aren't a member, but want to learn more about fitness and nutrition and allow me the opportunity to provide you with some accountability, let's connect today. Connect with me on fb Messenger and refer your friends also. Remember, IF you will Commit, I can help you get Fit! Let’s Connect, Commit & get Fit!

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

